Pointing the Finger

It’s my fault.  It really is.  Remember that as you read through this.  I’ve thought about it for days now.  If only I had written something less inflammatory.  If only I had bitten the bullet and found my way to Annapolis.  If only I was there to heckle the Bayhawks myself.

If only.

But don’t worry; I’m not going to do what you all think I’m going to do which is:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=izCeFd3mUqE

Okay, maybe a little.  I’ll flip out a little.  Seven stages of grief in five days?  It was more like seventeen stages of grief every hour.  It sounds insane, but I really do blame myself a little.  I goaded the opposing team.  I covered up the Cannons’ weaknesses even thought I knew they were there.  I played down the significance of the Bayhawks’ ability to key transition.

See the worst part about this “job” is that I’m not supposed to be a fan.  I’m supposed to be some sort of mouthpiece of MLL knowledge because, frankly, no one else is doing it.  I just happen to be a Cannons fan since the inception of the franchise so I plop down my work here.  And wherever else will have me.

So this may/will come as a surprise.

I didn’t have high hopes for this team when the season started.  There were several players missing from the storied 2009 squad when training camp finally began in May.  And yes, they were storied, I wrote stories about them.  This makes them storied.

You know what I think?  I think you forget who was on this team last year.

101 points of offense left the 2009 team.  71 goals, 30 assists worth of players LEFT the Cannons.  They left! WHY DID THEY LEAVE?  Don’t worry child; we’ll get there.

I’m not going to tell you who those players are.  I’ll let you guess.  Go ahead.

Johnny Christmas is the first guy named by the average Cannons fan.  Would you like to guess how many points Mr. Christmas had?  25?  30?

Try seven. SEV-EN.  Five goals and two assists – in SEV-EN games.

My uneducated fan guess was Tom Zummo, but that’s only because I miss Tom Zummo and his two goals and two assists like the flower misses the sun.  *sniff*.

😦

You see the loss of Christmas was ancillary.  As was the departure of Zummo, Kevin Cassese, Brett Garber and Bobby Horsey (only Garber played in 2010 – he had a great year, but followed his dad to Chicago to get playing time.  Make of that what you will).  Losing Ray Megill had a much bigger impact than most people will realize as well, but his departure was eased by McClay’s move to become the second LSM and cover for Mitch Beslisle at close D.

So who is left?  Who could POSSIBLY be left?

77 points are left.

Three deserters are left.

Three players with the blood of the 2010 season on their hands are left.

(I really don’t want to do this, Kyle’s ego is making me. He knows he’s wrong, he’s just making excuses and doing what you expect him to do.)

Let us begin with the negligent Cannon with the most potential: Brandon Corp.  When the Cannons picked Corp in the 2009 a lot of people were upset.  I wasn’t one of those people.  Look back…oh look the MLL decided to purge their entire database of all things Kyle.  That’s cute.  Anyway, what I was trying to link you to was my draft day article where I raved about the Cannons snagging Corp in the first round.  One of Corp’s coaches was a teammate of mine in college and he told me stories about this kid like he was the fish that Hemingway struggled to catch.

It's a metaphor for a similie.

His statline for 2009: Seven (SEV-EN) games, 8 goals, 3 assists, and 9 ground balls.  Not great, but not horrendous.  Big things were expected from Corpy in 2010.  Then he disappeared.  (I know where he went, but I won’t dignify the organization with a name in one of MY articles, you can figure it out.)

Next up: Clifton Alrich. Yes, Clifton, your secret is out.  That’s your real name.  Matt is your middle name.  You can’t switch to your middle name because it’s cooler just because you feel like it.  My middle name is Jordan, would I like to switch to my middle name?  Hell yes I would!  Is there a character on South Park named Jordan?  No – the greatest basketball player in the history of the earth is named Jordan.  It’s a much cooler name.  But my name is Kyle, damn it.  I accept it, Clifton.  Grow up.

I'm not a ginger, and I don't own a russian winter hat.

Clifton’s statistics for 2009: 11 games played, 21 goals, 3 assists, 32% shooting percentage.  That’s a pretty sizeable contribution.  21 goals in the MLL is nothing to scoff at.  The 2010 squad had two players that scored 21 goals: Paul Rabil and Matt Poskay.  Did I mention that Alrich played attack?  He was a STARTING attackman, people. A STARTING attackman just up and bounced.  No announcement.  Nothing. Just 24 points faded into the ether.

So who’s left?  Your boy.  Boston’s boy.  Sean Morris.

The Cannons second leading scorer in 2009, Morris had 21 goals and 21 assists in twelve games.  It’s impossible to ignore the impact losing 21 goals and 21 assists has on an MLL team, but numbers aside Morris gave the Cannons another feeder to go with Ryan Boyle.  He gave them another finisher on the wing and the crease. Most importantly he gave the Cannons another attackman that could drive to the net and score on a regular basis – something the 2010 Cannons did not have.   Apparently running camps and playing “indoor” lacrosse is more important then repping your city.

I’m not saying the Cannons would have been able to win the 2010 MLL championship with Corp, Alrich and Morris on the roster.  I just wanted to remind you who they were and how they could have helped achieve that goal.  I wanted to remind them what they did to this franchise.

Crap.  This hasn’t solved anything.  Just lashing out.  The funny thing is; I’m not even mad at them.

I’m just disappointed with everyone.

Again.

Explore posts in the same categories: Kyle Devitte's Firing Squad

Leave a Reply

